Injured employees often struggle after a work accident and need all of the insurance benefits they are entitled to in order to make ends meet. However, insurers will not have your best interests at heart, and you may need an attorney to help you recover the maximum payment allowed under the law.
Maximum Benefits Allowed Under Workers’ Compensation
Rhode Island workers’ compensation law imposes a maximum limit on the amount of weekly benefits an employee can collect. The maximum rate changes every year and is set by the RI Department of Labor and Training. As of October 2020, the maximum rate is $1,304 per week.
It’s important to note that your benefit amount could be affected by:
The percentage of your average weekly wage (AWW).
Your wage statement will be used to calculate the amount of your weekly compensation benefits. For scheduled injuries, workers are owed two-thirds of their AWW, but the percentage of AWW for unscheduled injuries may vary.
Dependents of workers who are considered totally disabled due to a work injury may collect an additional $15 per dependent each week. However, the injured worker’s compensation rate plus the amount of dependency benefits cannot be more than 80% of the worker’s total AWW.
If the work-related injury results in an employee’s death, surviving relatives may collect weekly payments of $40 per dependent in addition to the deceased employee’s weekly benefits. Weekly death benefits will be paid based on the greater of the worker’s wages at the time of death or the rate paid based on total incapacitation.
Have You Been Injured On The Job In Rhode Island?
If you've been hurt at work you need to speak with an experienced workers' compensation lawyer as soon as possible. Please contact us online or call our Cranston office directly at 401.946.3200 to schedule your free consultation. We help work injury victims in Providence, Warwick and all areas of Rhode Island.